There is just something about fairytales that I love. I know that the Disney fairytales I grew up with are just a version, and a fairly tame version, of the traditional ones but they still warm my heart and are a source of inspiration for many others. 

I read this fairytale because a student was doing a presentation on the illustrations that she had done for her final project based on The Light Princess and I had never heard of it before. I had heard of George MacDonald but was unaware of the beautiful fairytales that he wrote. 

It's a beautiful story about a princess who is literally light, as in she has no gravity. She has to be tied to something or the slightest puff of air could send her flying. 

I'm not sure I want to tell you more because fairytales have a lot to say and do a wonderful job of explaining themselves. 

If you read it you will not be disappointed. I wasn't.

The Wakeful Dreamer



Leave a Reply.