A friend at work sent me the link to this article called 8 Subconscious Mistakes Our Brains Make Everyday--And How to Avoid Them and I thought, "I'm making mistakes without even trying?" So, I was curious and once I read the article I was hitting my forehead knowing that I had to change some thinking. 

Especially number 5: Rationalizing purchases we don't want. How crazy is that?!? But I do it. I buy something I think I want/need (more emphasis on want) and bring it home. Once it's sitting in my house I don't want it anymore, I didn't really like that much to begin with. 

For the record, I don't do this all the time and now that we're back on a student budget again, every purchase has to be thought about well. But I have done it and it's scary. It's also scary because it has a name, post-purchase rationalization or Buyer's Stockholm Syndrome. At least when it happens I can come home and explain to my husband that I bought it because I have a syndrome... he'll understand, right?

The Wakeful Dreamer




Leave a Reply.