It's three more sleeps till Christmas. most of the gifts are wrapped and I baked cookies. That's pretty much all it takes to get me on the Christmas Train (or The Polar Express). Right now, I'm, mostly excited about food, seeing family, and food. Did I mention food? Oh, and chocolate!

Before I make myself even more hungry, I read a book the other day that was quite fun to read.  The title of the book isn't lying, it is literally the scrapbook of Frankie Pratt and describes itself (by way of a sub-title) as being a novel in pictures. 

It's a wonderful sneak peek into Frankie Pratt's life as she finishes high school and heads off into the world. She goes to college, travels abroad, and is ultimately on the lookout for love while trying to become a writer. 

Set in the 1920's, Frankie's scrapbook is full of classic memorabilia from the time period: buttons, advertisements, and pictures. Her thoughts are pasted on to the pages in short sentences from an old typewriter that gives you a pretty detailed picture of what is going on it that bobbed-haired head of hers. 

Time just seemed to fly by when I was reading this book because besides reading the story there is quite a bit to look at and read on the side. It's definitely an unique way capture someones life and a pleasant read if I do say so myself. It was perfect for me right now with Christmas right around the corner. It made me smile and forget all the things I needed to do...at least for an hour or so...

The Wakeful Dreamer









Leave a Reply.