Can you continue to blame everything on being busy? I should probably just come to terms to with the fact that I won't be able to get everything done when I want but I am trying very hard. Thank-you, reader, for having patience with me.

Now, down to business because I'm really excited about these books. How could you not fall in love with an almost eleven year-old girl who not only has a great mind for detective work but also has an intense love for chemistry especially poisons? 

This was another wonderful suggestion from my grandparents and it did not disappoint. First, each book has a wonderful title: The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, The Weed that Strings the Hangman's Bag, A Red Herring Without Mustard, and I am Half-Sick of Shadows. Second, each book is also filled with a delicious mystery that has Flavia riding around on her beloved bike, Gladys, all around town. This not only shows us the town (and surrounding areas) but also introduces us to a variety of eccentric characters. Though you don't have to go very far to realize that Flavia's own family is full of mystery and good old sisterly fights. 

My hat goes off to Alan Bradley who magnificently portrays the mind of not just an eleven year old but an eleven year old girl. Mostly because I found that I think just like her, name my possessions, and refer to famous people by their first names or nicknames as if I know them. 

The only thing that I don't like about these books is that he is writing more! You're thinking that I should be more excited about this but I don't want to wait till 2013 for the next book. I just let out a very audible sigh. In the same thought, at least I know what I'll be reading in a year from now...

The Wakeful Dreamer



Leave a Reply.