Today, well, today is one of those hard days. 

Where it feels like everything needs to get done and nothing gets done. 

Where you wish you and all you friends lived together in an awesome small town so you can visit and encourage the friend who just had a baby, get some good advice about baking from a friend just a few houses down, and bump into that friend who just gets it and gives the best hugs. 

Where your tired of being sick, tired of your child being sick, and wish that somehow everything was just better. And included more sleep. 

Where you notice the bowl you just put cereal in is not as clean as the dishwasher told you it was.

*sigh* And breathe...

Instead, I know I need to let go of getting things done... they are just things after all.  

Instead, I will grieve that I'm not close enough for a physical visit because the ones I love are spread over towns, cities, countries, and continents. But I'll send that text or email or prayer for them and be grateful for the technology that allows me to do so and the God that led me to each one.

Instead, I'll let go of my expectations and focus on getting better and helping my child get better. 

And the sleep will come. And the sinuses will clear. 

Today is hard but not impossible. It just requires grace, patience, and a whole lot of music to make it through. 

The Wakeful Dreamer


... I ate the cereal anyways. 



Leave a Reply.