Last night at convocation, I saw a friend (her husband had graduated last year) hug another friend (her husband had just crossed the stage) and overheard her say, "You did it too. I know how hard it is."

And right now I can't stop thinking about those words. I can't stop thinking about how true it is. 

As we stood among friends last night who had crossed the stage - looking so great with in their black gowns, coloured hoods, and blue folders that held the piece of paper saying that they had done it - I was so happy and proud. We had made it. 

This morning, after a bit of a rough night with our son (whose night was thrown off by being out late last night), I was washing the dishes and started crying. We had made it. 

We had made it through the beginning when you wonder a little bit if this is what you should be doing. When your husband is off studying and you don't see him all day because you're both working. When you spend a night alone while he is off at an evening class. When he tries to explain what he's learning and you're trying to follow because you see how excited he is about it (even though you may not really care about the Desert Fathers). When you just want some undivided attention, but you know he has three more papers due and you just have to wait... wait until he hands in his last paper so he can receive a single piece of paper at the end of it all. 

I'm so proud of my husband because he has worked so hard and has accomplished so much. But this morning, as I've given up dishes to write this and hold our son, I can't help but think of all the Regent spouses who have supported their significant others through their degrees and I want to stop, raise my tea and say: 'You made it. I'm so proud of you. I know it wasn't always easy but you made it. Maybe there is no ceremony, hood and gown, or piece of paper at the end for you, but know you followed God's calling through this time and I know he sees everything you did... and I'm kinda hoping for some kind of big crown in heaven to go with my huge mansion!'


Here's to you, the Spouses of Regent College. You made it.

The Wakeful Dreamer



Leave a Reply.