The sun came out today. 

You may not think that this is a wonderful thing but it is. It is, I swear. Especially if the day before it was cloudy and cold. 

It is always interesting to my how books affect how you think. They allow you to experience the world in a different way - walk a mile in someone else's shoes and all that. They also have this great ability to sneak up on you and before you know it you see the world in a different way. 

It's funny that as you get older you realize the world is less black and white and more... colour. Life is richer, deeper, and wider then first thought but I think it is important to grow into these thoughts like Liesel Meminger, in The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. Her life is narrated to us by Death, who describes her life (from a book that Liesel herself wrote) as she grows up in Nazi Germany, where Hitlers words are shaping a nation, and where The Book Thief is just finding hers. 

I picked up this book because I came across the title in a magazine and wrote it on my list. I thought it would be about someone stealing books, and it was, but it was so much more. It was actually quite beautiful. It has wonderful metaphors and you get wrapped up in the story without even trying. 

It also makes you think about the war from another perspective... sneaky, no? 

As you think about the weekend coming up, I hope you enjoy every moment...

The Wakeful Dreamer



Leave a Reply.