I feel a little bit like the white rabbit in Alice in Wonderland - feeling like I've been running around thinking "I'm late, I'm late!" 

Mostly this feeling comes when I think about writing a blog or responding to emails. I know a response doesn't have to been within the next three seconds but sometime this year might be a good idea... so this post may be quick but then at least I'll get it all out.

The Story of English was a book my grandpa gave to me in the summer and I finished it before Christmas. I know that is a long time but I read other things in between and sometimes sitting down to just read history needs some breaks. I finished it and have a new knowledge about English - about how it has evolved and changed, influencing not just other cultures but letting itself be influenced as well. If you are interested in knowing more there is also a documentary...

I found out about Cloud Atlas when I first saw the trailer. When I saw it was based on a book I went to the library to check it out. I flipped through a few pages and decided it might be something I could get into. My wonderful husband bought it for me and I got sucked into a wonderful world of how lives can connect over years and centuries. Not sure how the movie will work everything out but the book is one I would read again. 

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry is the pick of the month for March for the book club I'm in. It's the story of a man who starts walking to save an old friend who is dying from cancer and along the way comes face to face with the parts of his life that he has been ignoring. Though it is a book that I wouldn't recommend for everyone I did like it.

Confession time: I'm now apart of two book clubs. How much can one person handle? Well, I guess we'll have to wait and see... The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time is for my new book club. It's one that I have heard lots about but never got around to reading (this is why book clubs are good). It's about a boy who has autism and while he tries to figure out who killed his neighbor's dog, he ends up discovering secrets surrounding his own life. This is an interesting read because it is written in first person from the mind of the autistic boy. 

Not sure what reading is next on the horizon for me but I'm sure I'll try to write another blog before I'm done with four books again! That or I may take a nap...

The Wakeful Dreamer



Leave a Reply.