You know it's been a long time since you blogged last because you can't recognize the main website to get to your said blog. 

I know. It's my fault. But let's move on, shall we? Personally, I'd like to blame the incredible and partly-still-hovering-around-the-edges winter we are having. Though I'm fighting the good fight by wearing shorts today... with slippers... 

I've read a few books since I last blogged. I may have slacked on the blogging but not on the reading! 

I've been trying to get my hands on the Artemis Fowl Series for a long time, because some people don't feel like they need to return library books back on time. I guess late is better than never and I'm glad I waited because they are good books. I've only been able to read the first two: Artemis Fowl and Artemis Fowl: The Arctic Incident but they are about the main character, Artemis Fowl, who is a mastermind criminal and only a teenager! He is trying to regain his family's fortune and find his father while getting into some very magical areas. It's a good juvenile fiction read. 

Castle has to be one of my favorite television shows. It's a crime drama where a writer tags along with a homicide detective because she is the muse for his new crime novels. And just what did ABC do? They made the fictitious novel into real fiction (try to say that three times fast)! Heat Wave is the first book of four books that the broadcasting company has released along side the show. I liked it because there are a lot of parts that coincide with the show. Other than that it is not the best written book out there but there is enough going on that you do have to think about who the murderer is.

Indian Horse is a book that I had to read for my book club and I actually liked it. I felt like it had good pace and was well written. It is about an aboriginal boy who started out by growing up with his family but was later placed in a residential school. To escape the horrors of what happened at the school, he pours himself into being a great hockey player. It actually has a hopeful ending which I was not expecting having read similar Canadian books and I think that is what made me like it more.

Looking back now I see the wide range of books that I've read in the past month. A little bit for everyone, I think. Until next time...

The Wakeful Dreamer 






Leave a Reply.