There is a famous song that comes out around Christmas time: "Mary Did You Know?" by Mark Lowry and Buddy Greene, and I have to say I don't think I've managed to sit through it without crying by the end. I've tried to tough it out but the lyrics get me every time. 

Since becoming a mother, I find myself thinking of Mary more and more. Being a mom is hard - there is lots I expected and lots that has frustrated me, surprised me, and made me laugh.  I'm pretty sure I experience every emotion I have every day (If you need confirmation of this just ask my husband) - and there is no pressure of my son being the Son of God! 

There's just so much the Bible doesn't cover like: was Jesus a good baby? Did she worry about whether he was an Angel, Textbook, Spirited, Touchy, or Grumpy baby (I'm referencing this book, and I'm pretty sure one could make the argument that he was any one of them)? Did her heart break when he cried? Did she cry when he didn't stop crying and it was witching hour? Did she worry if he was getting enough to eat?

And how did she survive any of it? Because in this day and age there are swings, bouncy chairs, wraps and carriers, cribs, bright toys, things that sing, vibrate, and that you can control with your phone. I often imagine her looking out over the desert with Jesus strapped to her with nothing but sand and a rock. Maybe a donkey. Maybe the donkey was the swing back then... 

Did Joseph help? Did he bring her water when she was stuck sitting at home cluster feeding? Did he hold Jesus so that she could go to the bathroom or have a shower to finally wash the spit up out of her hair? 

I don't know too much about the culture back then but I assume she had women who surrounded her and helped her. There is no mention of her mother or sisters except for Elizabeth, her cousin. Was there a midwife who came and checked up on her? Did she go to the well everyday to meet other moms, to swap baby stories and see how much sleep everyone was getting? Or what herbs would help with gas or teething?

Or was she alone? Like our modern-day North American culture thinks we should be? That we are all super, multi-tasking women who need to show that we can do it by ourselves without the help of the likes of our husbands, family, or community? - which by the way is NOT how I think it should be. 

I wonder all this and so much more. Luke 2:19 reveals the smallest insight into her life:

"But Mary treasured up all these things and pondered them in her heart."

Since becoming a mom I've thought about this verse and I know what it means. What it feels like to see your son and wonder who he might be. 

So, let us ask again the question again, did Mary know? 

Of course she did. She knew he was Emmanuel. God with us. She would never forget the encounter with the angel. Maybe she didn't know everything Jesus would do, but she knew.  

And she loved him even when he cried in the middle of night. When he peed on her. When he smiled at her for the first time. 

He was a baby.  

He was her son.


The Wakeful Dreamer



Mom and Gramma
5/6/2015 10:03:07 pm

Love that song and well said on behalf of all of us. Now I must go wipe the tears from my eyes. Love you all.

Reply



Leave a Reply.