Don't you hate when you write something out and it's going so well and then... it's gone. Never to return. You forgot to save it or the internet dies on you while you were in the middle of writing a post and now you just want to give up because you can never remember everything you wrote before, and it was probably your best work. Ever. 

Okay, so it probably wasn't my best work ever but the disappointment is still there. Even though I'm hurt by my back-stabbing friend the internet for letting me down (again) and I'm paranoid about losing this post that I'm saving it every .5 seconds, I'm going attempt this again... 

If you have gone to school, even for a short amount of time, there is one subject that you will encounter very early on: Grammar. So what if grammar is one of those subjects that every kid would rather eat chalk then try to remember this rule or that rule? I'm bringing it up because someone asked me what my thoughts were on The Oxford Comma.

I'll let you in now on a little secret: the comma is my favorite form of punctuation. When used properly of course. It's less exuberant then the exclamation point, less frustrating to use then a semi-colon, and less demanding then the period. It is important that you have a favorite form of punctuation because what are you going to say when someone asks you? 

Now you're wondering what The Oxford Comma is: is it a bird, a plane, or wait - there is more then one kind of comma?!? Actually it is not a different kind, more of the way you use it. By now I'm expecting that you have already googled it, found the wikipedia article, and are well aware of what it is.

If not, it is the difference of writing a list like this: apples, grapes, and bananas. Or like this apples, grapes and bananas. The Oxford Comma being in the first example before the and. Despite being such a small difference The Oxford Comma, or Serial Comma as it can also be called, has sparked quite the debate. 

So what do I think about it? Well, if you're not sure maybe you should read this post again :)

The Wakeful Dreamer



8/30/2011 12:01:52 am

This post amused me in so many ways. My favourite is the comma also! It can turn the most ordinary of sentences into a work of art ;)

P.S. in another shameless bid to convince you to convert to the wonders of wordpress: wordpress auto-saves!

Reply
7/17/2012 02:47:06 am

When I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new feedback are added- checkbox and now every time a remark is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any approach you�ll be able to remove me from that service? Thanks!

Reply
The Wakeful Dreamer
9/5/2012 03:36:51 am

I checked into it and there isn't much I can do on this end unless you want me to delete your original comment?

Reply



Leave a Reply.