I went on holidays... that is my excuse for not blogging. But I did manage to come away with some (hopefully) good book titles from looking in book stores, so I think I'm pretty much set for the rest of the year. 

Before I left I re-read The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams.  The first time I read this I was in college and managed to completely devour all five books on a road trip. I guess Adams and travelling go hand in hand. This time though I only read the first one and if you have never read it I suggest you do because they are wonderfully funny and entertaining.

Animal Farm by George Orwell has always been one I've been interested in but I put off reading it because I had heard a lot of negative comments about it. When I picked it up I realized that it actually wan't very long, it's a very thin book and when I finished reading I realize that the negative comments were wrong! It is a social commentary but by no means is it dry or very violent, like I had heard. I would suggest it because it makes you think about certain political parties in a very interesting, animal, way. 

 I signed up to receive notifications when e-books become free (it is very exciting). I don't have any control over what kind of books but sometime they prove to be quite interesting like Stash your Swag - 100+ Secret Hiding Places by Tarrin P. Lupo. It's a very short book and basically describes every hiding place you could have around your house to stash your money/valuables instead of putting them in a bank. There's a little touch of the paranoia about banks here but it proved to be an interesting read - did you know that you can hide money in toilet paper rolls?!? 

One of the things I love best about my Kindle is that a lot of classic literature is for free (sensing a theme?)! Many people may think that classic literature is boring but I happen to find it very interesting so The Invisible Man by H.G. Wells did not disappoint. I thought the book would end once someone discovered that he was invisible but in fact that was just the beginning! It is an interesting look at how the things we want to attain end up consuming us and become our ruin.

The Nightmare Within by Glen Krisch was a book that I thought I would give a try because the idea was interesting: A man can pull dreams and nightmares from people and was putting them in a museum. He ends up pulling a particularly nasty nightmare man from a small boy and well, you can guess what happens... In the end I found this book to be a little disappointing. I feel like it started out well but then left me feeling cheated in the end because it just kind of became predictable. There were also scenes of violence and sexuality that I skipped over because they seemed unnecessary. So I suggest skipping this one...

Well now that I'm all out of books the next step is to head to the library! Till next time...

The Wakeful Dreamer




Leave a Reply.